[Review] The line between by Tamsyn Bester

goodreads icon

aboutthebook icon

There’s a fine line between love and hate, so fine that you don’t know you’ve lost balance until it’s too late.
I’m not sure exactly when I lost my balance, all I know is that he was to blame.
Dane Winters.
The boy who’d spent most of his life hating me for reasons I never understood.

** ** ** ** ** **

It was no secret that I hated her, but only I knew why.
She was off-limits.
And then our separate worlds collided with one tragedy.
It wasn’t her fault, I knew that, but I wanted her to hurt the way I did, and I needed someone to blame. She was an easy target.
Kennedy Monroe.
The girl I’d picked on all our lives.
And the woman I barely tolerated.
Until the line between love and hate was no longer visible…

*New Adult Contemporary Romance*
*Due to mature content this book is not suitable for readers younger than 18*

bookrating icon

1star

bookreview icon

Nope, nope, nope, nope!
I don’t know how to write an honest review and remain polite with this one. It’s my first time feeling offended by a book and I don’t know how to deal with it.

Ok I’ll just say the few things that I liked. It was easy to read and sometimes the story had my attention. I was like ‘Oh, it might get better.’ and then I was ‘Naaah it won’t.’ There were a couple of times that the description was perfect and I enjoyed a few steamy scenes but just that.

From now on my review won’t be spoiler free so just have that in mind.

I’ll start with the fact that the book had absolutely no plot. The whole ‘our families hate each other and we can’t be together’ is no plot. I hoped that there was a good reason why the families hated each other but that wasn’t the case. They just hated each other for some lands and that’s not an excuse. Seriously!

The book starts with Dane bullying Kennedy because he was so carried away by the hatred. Well ok, I accept that because being a mean dick who enjoys bullying others is realistic. Sadly it happens a lot and even though it’s unacceptable I get why Dane did it. Well that was untill he framed Kennedy for being a stalker. He went through all the trouble to actually stalk her boyfriend in order to frame her. That’s not called bullying for fun, that’s called bullying because of fucking obsession. He was sick.

Kennedy on the other hand, allowed a bully to destroy her life. Well yes, victims don’t usually talk about it but it’s their fault. I don’t know a lot about bullying but if it was me being the victim, I would have destroyed the motherfuckers who annoyed me. Anyway, I’ll just get past that because I am in no place to talk.

Both of them lost their siblings and that was when the story and my headache began. They both tried to go on with their lifes and forget about the hatred and each other till they met again in college.

Kennedy and her two friends were obviously the only good and worthy girls in this book. ALL the other girls in the story were described as trashed and sluts. I wonder why the author prefered to emphasize that they were readheads. Yes, I was offended and I don’t get why having read hair instantly means you’re a slut.
Also, all the girls drooling over Dane were presented as easy substitutes, who would willingly open their legs and allowed him to fuck her.
Not all girls are that way and you must be a misogynist to believe that. I thoroughly dislike when the leads are perfect and everybody else just not worth it.

Also, the book is written that way so that Kennedy can look like she has trusting issues but all I got was that she was just being a lying bitch, believing that her BEST friend was not good enough in order to trust her. Well, flash news for you Kennedy, being secretive and dishonest causes misunderstandings and makes things worse.
Jade was seriously the best friend anybody could ever have. Caring, understanding, supportive and all.

Dane was the absolute meaning of ‘drama queen’. Hating Kennedy not because of the family history but because she was off-limits and all, made no sense. Why was she off-limits? Why hate her anyway? There was no real explaination.
If he wanted her and she wanted him, they could be together since both of them didn’t even care about their families.

Also, the sex scenes were too much. I am so into steamy scenes and I enjoy them but when half of the book is sex then the genre goes from new adult to erotica. If I wanted to read erotica then I would have picked a book from that genre. I was like ‘Oh look, another sex scene. Skip skip skip skip!’ I needed some plot and I was convinced that erotica books have more plot than this one.
Another reason I skipped the sex scenes was the dialogue. Phrases like ‘ahhh yeah’, ‘Mmmmmmm’, ‘Ohhhh’ are unacceptable. A good author can describe a sex scene without using useless, ridiculous, awkward phrases.

To sum up, I was angry, offended and tired. I didn’t like it at all. I do not recommend it but I suggest you read it. When you’re done, come back to me and tell me I was wrong if that’s the case.

Thank you.

abouttheauthor

[Tamsyn Bester]

3 thoughts on “[Review] The line between by Tamsyn Bester

Leave a Reply

