[Review] Bully by Penelope Douglas

goodreads icon

aboutthebook icon

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Penelope Douglas delivers an unforgettable New Adult romance that toes the fine line between love and hate…

My name is Tate. He doesn’t call me that, though. He’ll barely refer to me at all, and he’ll hardly ever speak to me.

But he still won’t leave me alone.

We were best friends once. Then he turned on me and made it his mission to ruin my life. I’ve been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got worse as time wore on. I even went to Europe for a year, just to avoid him.

But I’m done hiding from him now, and there’s no way I’ll allow him to ruin another year. He might not have changed, but I have.

It’s time to fight back.

When one brave young woman stands up to her best friend Jared, now tormenter, the consequences go beyond anything either of them ever would have imagined…

bookrating icon

3stars

bookreview icon

Nope, this book was absolutely not for me. I would have rated it lower but I gave it three stars because I enjoyed it at some point.

Writing Style

Not even one complain here. Everything was great and I actually liked the way the book was written. There was a flow and the description of feelings was really awesome. I am a huge fan of authors who manage to make me feel and relate to the characters. There was first person POV, which I prefer at most times, because in order to write in third person and do it well requires skill and usually it’s a failure. I am not implying that Penelope Douglas has not talent, please do not misunderstand. The first person POV is safe in general. So what I am saying here is that the book was really good in this domain.

Plot

Here come my issues with this book. Bullying is bad but I don’t really blame the bullies all the time. I happened to be bullied back in junior high. A guy liked me, I rejected him and he bullied me to the point that he even started throwing rocks at me every time we happened to meet. He usually was trying to assault me by groping me in public and then there were the rocks. I should have stopped him earlier but I was just avoiding him. When a rock actually hit me and injured me I realized that this kid is a fucking asshole and he needs to be stopped. I talked to my parents and they talked to the police and that kid never bothered me again. What I am trying to say is that victims should not be victims and I understand that it’s difficult to speak to someone about being bullied, I’ve been there and I know, but we all have to be brave and stop this from happening. I blame myself for not stopping him the very first time he tried to do this to me and it’s really my fault that I let this happen.Bullies should be stopped. We need to be brave for our own good and we need to prevent these psychotic jerks from ruining our lives. We can do this.

At least there is a logical explanation as to why Jared was a bully and why Tate fell in love with him. I won’t spoil anything but I’ll just say that I’ve finished it because it was realistic and because Tate didn’t just accept this. She found the strength and fought back and stopped her bully. That’s what we’re supposed to do. If I was in her shoes I would have stopped this earlier but better late than never. We’re not all the same and for some people it’s harder to be brave. Eventually it has to be done.

So, the pace was good and the plot made sense. In general the story evolved perfectly well. There was suspence and I had so many questions that were answered the right time. Technically the book was perfect.

Characters

Both Jared and Tate made me so mad at first. I was so rooting for Tate, I was relating and I wanted her to be free of this torture and happy. I had high hopes and expectations and she was driving me crazy. Thankfully at some time she opened her eyes and realized some things and fought back. I was not disappointed.

Jared on the other hand… I wanted to punch his face every single time his name was appearing in front of me. I loved how determined, strong and smart he was was but at the same time I hated his jerk side. You can’t just treat a person like that. So when things got clear and I realized the hows and whys of his personality and all the reasons behind his stupid behavior, I kind of forgave him. Tate got it as well!

Overall

The book was not bad, actually. I’ve enjoyed parts but I was facepalming most of the time because of my own experience. So the reasons behind my own behavior and rating are mostly personal. I also realized that I should prbably avoid that kind of books. Not good for me.

abouttheauthor

[Penelope Douglas]

926924

Penelope Douglas is a New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author living in Las Vegas with her husband and daughter. Her books include the Fall Away series (Bully, Until You, Rival, Falling Away, and Aflame). Please look for her recent standalones, Corrupt and Misconduct. Available now.

Looking for News?
Website: www.penelopedouglasauthor.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PenelopeDoug…
Twitter: www.twitter.com/PenDouglas
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/penelopedoug…
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1A8hUBX
Instagram: @penelope.douglas

3 thoughts on “[Review] Bully by Penelope Douglas

Leave a Reply

