[Review] A Hidden Fire by Elizabeth Hunter

goodreads icon

aboutthebook icon

A phone call from an old friend sets Dr. Giovanni Vecchio back on the path of a mysterious manuscript he’s hunted for over five hundred years. He never expected a young student librarian could be the key to unlock its secrets, nor could he have predicted the danger she would attract.

Now he and Beatrice De Novo follow a twisted maze that leads from the archives of a university library, though the fires of Renaissance Florence, and toward a confrontation hundreds of years in the making.

bookrating icon

5stars

bookreview icon

Ok let me say that I am not really into vampire fiction but this book was a freaking guilty pleasure. I really really liked it and it has been a while since the last time I’ve considered any character as a book boyfriend.

Writing Style

I am satisfied with the writing style even though I found it a bit odd at first. What I mean is that there was third person POV mostly focused on Giovanni. So when the focus was on Giovanni, the writing style was a bit more formal, just like him. If it was first person POV it would be amazing because we would be in his head and the formal style would make more sense. I got used to it a bit later and I realized that it was probably my imagination or just the vibes Gio sent me. Anyway, it didn’t bother me at all, it was just an observation. Other than that everything were great. Enough details, not tiring, balance among dialogue, description and thoughts.

Plot/World Building

Ok, let me tell you something. The whole book was about a hot vampire and his freaking books! Do you realize how mind blowing is the combination? I didn’t realized it at first and I kept reading about how much he liked books and how important they were for him and that his dream job was being a rare book hunter… that made me obsessed.

So we have an ancient vampire who would do anything to get books in his hands. But then there’s this girl and she is young but passionate and she reminds him how it feels to care about someone and things change. I just love the plot. I love it when the male characters are so affected by the female character. I mean yes, Beatrice was affected as well, of course, but it’s different when you’re in your twenties and you fall for a super hot and awesome dude. You can’t compare it with a 500 years old man falling for a girl.

The pace of the story is perfect. Not too fast and not too slow. There are no signs of insta-love and it evolves steadily. Things happen all the time and you won’t get bored of the book.

Characters

Beatrice was an interesting character. I am not too fond of her but I definitely don’t dislike her. I mean yeah I think all of her actions, thoughts and decisions were realistic and something I would do in her place as well but she was just meh. There was nothing that she did that awed me but she didn’t annoy me as well and that’s good. She was a usual girl in a really awesome adventure but without doing something remarkable. Oh but she was smart and I give her that.

Giovanni… oh where to start? He was a mysterious, composed, charming, elegant gentleman who needed his space and his peace. He was determined to take back what was his at first place and who doesn’t love a man who would do anything to protect what belonged to him? I don’t know about you girls but i think I’ll choose my next boyfriend very carefully because of the damn standards that my book boyfriends have set for me.

There were many awesome characters like Carwyn and Caspar. They both gave the story their touch and made it even better with their great lines and jokes and of course their loyalty and help.

Overall 

I am so glad I’ve found this book because it made me remember how it feels to really like a book and a character that much. I suggest you read it if you’re in the mood for romance and a unique adventure.

abouttheauthor

[Elizabeth Hunter]

Elizabeth Hunter is a contemporary fantasy and romance author. She is a graduate of the University of Houston Honors College and a former English teacher.

She currently lives in Central California with her son, two very ineffective canine assistants, and a pitifully empty fish tank.

She is the author of the Elemental Mysteries and Elemental World series, the Irin Chronicles, the Cambio Springs Mysteries, and other works of fiction.

4 thoughts on “[Review] A Hidden Fire by Elizabeth Hunter

  1. After the twilight-boom, I would rarely read a book if it has the word “vampire” on the blurb. Regardless of the plot. And that’s a damn shame, because I am sure there are plenty of good books out there with vampires as MCs that I don’t even pick up because I’m sick and tired of seeing them everywhere (books, tv, movies…) for such a long time. After reading such a nice review, this books looks definitely worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

