[Review] Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

goodreads icon

aboutthebook icon

Show/Hide Blurb

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realise that the heart can be more lethal than the sword….

bookrating icon

1star

bookreview icon

DNF 49%

How do I even begin? This book made me sick.

I was deceived by the awesome cover and the interesting blurb and I picked to buddy read this book. I admit that the prologue was completely thrilling and I couldn’t wait to read more but then… everything just fell apart. I had a headache everytime I was trying to read it.

Too many characters and too many different POVs. I was ready to explode. The pace was slow and after reading half of the book I was expecting some action but guess what, nothing happened. Absolutely nothing! The characters were appalling, flat and without any realistic sides.

The world building was promising but proved me wrong later . Three, very different, countries; Two kingdoms in which the kings hated each other. I thought there would be a good reason behind all the hate and the need to go to war but it was all because one king was jealous of the other.

The whole story was predictable, uninspired and straightforward. The author was trying to create the feeling of mystery but she was giving away all the hidden facts by herself. No twists!

So I was reading about multiple characters and a boring story. The worst combination ever? Nope, it gets worse. What could possible make it worse? Incest.

It makes me nauseous just to think of siblings having other kind of feelings. Ok obviously they’re going to end up not related at all but that doesn’t changes the fact that Magnus thought that Lucia was his sister and had the feelings already. That’s gross, seriously and I didn’t need another Jamie Lanister. Well, to be honest, Jamie was quite the charmer, in addition to Magnus who’s just disgusting.

Cleo was getting on my nerves all the time. Her name should be written under every definition of selfish and spoiled. She was the reason bad things happened and I blame her ego. Ok, I also blame Aron for being a complete asshole but that’s another story.

Theon could be a great character but because of the numerous POVs poor Theon didn’t have enough scenes. He deserved them.

I put all my hopes to Jonas and his need to revenge but the pace was getting slower and I was bored.

So in order to keep my sanity I just dropped the book and I will never, ever try to finish it.

feedback icon

Have you read the book? What do you think about it?

4 thoughts on “[Review] Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

  1. Oh, wow. I had this series in mind but I keep reading very mixed reviews! People really love it or hate it, so I don’t know. Maybe I’ll pick FK later in the year, but my expectations are getting lower and lower.

    • I thoroughly disliked this book but I’m not the person to tell you not to read it! In fact maybe you should so that you can have your own opinion. Thanks for reading honey!

Leave a Reply

