[Review] The Corridor by A. N. Willis

goodreads icon

[The Corridor]

expected publication icon

June 23, 2015

bookrating icon

4stars

bookreview icon

Arc kindly provided by the publisher, via netGalley, in exchange for an honest review .

The Corridor was an easy and enjoyable read. I can’t really say that I went wild while reading it but it was decent.
It started a bit boring but the plot was promising and intriguing. After reading 30% of the book it felt like things were getting better and faster.

A.N. Willis writting style is pleasant and not confusing. I had no trouble keeping up with the story and the trasition from Estele’s feelings to information and dialogue had a flow. I was inside her head and I was easily able to see her surroundings without getting lost. Reading in a different language than my own is not hard but simple and elegant writting style like the one in The Corridor make it easier for me. Gladly!

We were introduced to Estele, a girl with the ability to travel in parallel universes. This wasn’t normal and she was trying to hide it because it was dangerous. All she needed was to be normal and leave a quiet life. Estele is the kind of girl who would do anything for her family and the ones she loves. She didn’t know it but she was brave and determined and when her dad needed her in order to save their world, she was ready to sacrifice herself and reveal her powers.
I was really satisfied with Estele’s thoughts, feelings and reactions; they seemed realistic to me and that’s how normal people would have acted if they happened to be in her shoes.

I admit that her Chol, her love interest was kind of uninteresting and forgetabble and their romance was rushed and kind of awkward. I mean, yeah the attraction was there since the very beginning but escalated quickly, out of nowhere. They didn’t even met eachother more than, what? Five times?
That was my only objection. Other than that, Chol was pretty ok and I can say that if he had a bigger part in the book I would have liked him more.

The book had a lot of action and twists that I enjoyed and the romance was not the biggest part, thing that I appreciated. There were a couple of characters that I disliked and others that earned my trust with a bit more effort. Estele had to go through a lot in order to trust the right people and actually see what was in front of her. I enjoyed being in that journey with her, putting my faith in her to make things right.

The book ends with a cliffhanger and the second book has already my attention.
Hopefully we will get to see more of Cohl and his world and I can’t wait to find out about the new world that was promised to us.

abouttheauthor

[A. N. Willis]

Leave a Reply

