[Review] Bitter Sweet Love by Jennifer L. Armentrout

goodreads icon

aboutthebook icon

Dez wasn’t just Jasmine’s crush. A gargoyle Warden like Jas, he helped her come to terms with her destiny—fending off demons and maintaining the balance between good and evil. He was her everything…right until the moment he disappeared without a trace. It didn’t help that Jas’s father had just announced that she and Dez would one day be mated. Hard not to take that personally.

And now he’s back, three years older, ten times hotter, ready to pick up exactly where they left off. But Jas isn’t taking that risk again. Dez has seven days to meet all her conditions and earn back her trust. Seven days filled with terrifying danger and sweet temptation. Seven days to win her heart—or shatter it all over again…

bookrating icon

3stars

bookreview icon

So let me be the first to say that it was just decent. Yes it is a novella but I was kind of feeling bored and not excited most of the time. The only excitement I felt was at the end when the Upper Deamon appeared.

The world Jennifer created intrigued me and I need to know more. The good thing was that we got to see the world through Jasmine’s eyes. She is a female Warden in addition to the actual story’s lead, Layla, who is half-warder and half-demon. So we learned about the lifestyle of a Warden and now I can’t wait to get lost in Layla’s story. The Upper deamon which is probably the so called Roth that my friends are spazzing about seems like my new book boyfriend. (I was going to say Layla’s love interest but nah!)

I also liked Dez a lot and I hope to see him around but Jasmine was boring and she didn’t manage to catch my eye.

Anyway, I will not talk about Jennifer’s writting style at all because I love it and I am going to analyze more when I finish the first book, which btw I am very excited to read.

Off to read some more and I’ll be back with a full review for the first book of The Dark Elements!

abouttheauthor

[Jennifer L. Armentrout]

Leave a Reply

