[Review] The Heir by Kiera Cass

goodreads icon

aboutthebook icon

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

bookrating icon

1star

bookreview icon

So I finally decided to… drop the book. Yeah, I don’t even care what happens at the end or who Eadlyn choses. I mean I started reading it along with other books and I finished all the other books except this one because it was THAT boring.

I’ll start witht the fact that it was plotless (is that even a word? If not, then now it is). So after America and Maxon free people from leaving in castes and everything’s fine till some people started rebeling. Apparently some people still treated other people based on the castes they used to be. What Maxon and America did for that? They made Eadlyn enter the Selection. Wow that was genious, seriously it was the wiser decision they could make. Because yes, distraction really helps solve all problems. Hope you guys love sarcasm.

I chose to ignore the stupid reason for the Selection and focus in Eadlyn. Wow it was like she had no feelings at all. She was mean and strict for absolutely no reason and I disliked her from the very beginning. Well, she grew up knowing that she would be a queen and since young she was focused and determined so I give her that! At least she had a life purpose and she wanted to be good at that. Nobody can blame her for being that way because her parents and her life made her that way.

Mentioning her parents; I wasn’t able to get a motherly feeling from America. It was like young America was more mature that mom-America. I felt like her advices were not advices a mother who had such life experiences would give. But who am I to judge a mother like that right? Don’t kill me, it’s just my opinion.

I liked Kile and the way he was described in the book. He was senting me waves of admiration sometimes and that’s impressive because I’m a difficult and weird person. I also like Ean because he was cocky and confident. Maybe I would have liked Erik, if I had read the book. The rest were dull and forgetable.

I didn’t manage to recieve any feelings from Eadlyn for her family and not to mention for the suitors. Besides the fact that she mentioned how much she loved her brothers and her family she wasn’t showing it at all. I hate that because I am fan of books which are focusing a lot in feelings and less in unnecessary descriptions.

The only time I got the fairytale feeling was when Eadlyn was talking about her dresses and tiaras. Isn’t it sad that this was one of the very few things that I liked? I had high hopes for that book and I still can’t believe that I was so disappointed to the point I dropped the book. Kiera Cass could do better but I have a feeling this book was forced. I see no other reason for it to be that bad. I guess the fandom needed more and Kiera decided to do them a favor. Pity!

I know I am strict, and bitchy but at least I am honest and I not biased. Being biased is a really bad thing for author and I prefer to say the truth in order to prevent them from making mistakes. We should all do that.

abouttheauthor

[Kiera Cass]

Leave a Reply

