[Review] Amber Smoke by Kristin Cast

null

goodreads icon

aboutthebook icon

There is a world that runs parallel to our own, a world in which the souls of the damned are caged, where they are looked over by the Furies, and where they spend eternity in torment, mirroring the devastation and mayhem they created when alive.

Someone has opened the cage.

The worst of terrors has crossed the barrier that separates our world from theirs, and the Furies send a great, albeit untested warrior—their only son, Alek—to try to bring those souls back. He is young and handsome, headstrong and impulsive, and he won’t be able to do it alone.

Eva has grown up, beautiful and beloved, but surrounded by secrets. First, she will be hunted in an ancient feud that will threaten her life. Then, she will become the hunter.

With the police closing in and two worlds on the verge of crumbling around them, Alek and Eva must find each other, discover the limits of their powers, and work together to save everything they hold dear, including one another. Blending elements of mythology with the dazzling storytelling that her fans have devoured through the House of Night series, Kristin Cast weaves a spellbinding and passionate tale that starts a thrilling new series with an explosive charge.

bookrating icon

3stars

bookreview icon

Arc kindly provided by the publisher, via netGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

I was about to give up on this book and rate it with a single star but after reading more than half of it, the story finally began.
The blurb was so promising and was talking about how “Alek and Eva must find each other, discover the limits of their powers, and work together to save everything they hold dear, including one another.” I was expecting some action and something thrilling but all I got was a crime book about a couple detectives that were trying to solve a case of murder. Eva and Alek found each other but we barely got a glimpse of Eva’s and Alek’s power. So, there was no “dicovering the limits of their powers” as promised and they only met at the very end.
Ok I admit that Alek trying to find Eva was a bit interesting but I was bored really fast. Things got better when the story started focusing on Eva mostly and that’s when I changed my mind about giving up.

I was sad because I didn’t have the chance to get to know Eva and Alek. The third person POV was not helping at all and focusing on too many characters was frustrating. At the end I know more about the Furies and the detectives than the two very main leads.
I don’t care at all about the detectives and what they think about Alek and Eva or how the investigation about the murder goes. I only care about what the two of them think and plan on doing and how they experience things. I want to see through their eyes and I want to feel what they feel. It’s really important to understand their character and relate but I can’t. How did Eva really feel about the charges? What was Alek opinion about Eva? How was Eva experiencing her new powers? Was she scared? Excited? I really do hate guessing. They both look like they’re secondary characters in their own story and this is really unfair.

Thankfully the last chapters were finally about Eva and Alek and the story began. It’s a pity that I had to go through all the unimportant details and stuff before that. I lost my interest and I reached that point out of pure luck. The book has a lot of potential but it’s lacking. I am giving it three stars because I hope that the second book will really be about Eva and Alek. Just them.

I know I am strict and difficult to please but I need to write honest reviews that will trully help the publishers and the author. Hopefully nobody will be offended because of my humble opinion. I respect the authors hard work and the publisher’s efforts. The book was definitelly not bad but it could be better and it’s not really difficult to succeed in doing so.

abouttheauthor

[Kristin Cast]

Kristin Cast is a NY Times and USA Today bestselling author who teamed with her mother to write the wildly successful House of Night series. She has editorial credits, a thriving t-shirt line, and a passion for all things paranormal. When away from her writing desk, Kristin loves relaxing with her significant other and their dogs, and discovering new hobbies. This year she’ll work on swimming, yoga, and adding to her Doctor Who collection.

Leave a Reply

