[Review] Taunting Destiny by Amelia Hutchins

goodreads icon

aboutthebook icon

I thought things were bad and weird before—hold on—it’s getting worse.

Adam and I are both going through identity crises of epic proportions as we Transition from who we were, and discover who we were meant to be. More Fae are dying, and I feel as if time is running out for us to find all of those responsible and put an end to the killings.

The people I thought I could trust have betrayed me and the one person I should absolutely not trust; is taking me deeper and deeper into his world.

Ryder’s secrets are dangerous and devastating.

With each touch and word, he pulls my heart closer to himself and at the same time he is trying to keep me at arm’s length. The dance he and I have begun, is getting more complicated as our worlds are being shaken from all sides, and the visions of the future are frightening, and nothing like I had ever pictured for myself or those I care for.

This time, destiny is taunting me.

I had always thought that I controlled my destiny. Now, my rights are being taken from me by powerful people and leaving me with alternatives that range between bad and awful.

This time, the choices I have to make can decide the fate of both worlds.

Everything is unraveling, and nothing will ever be the same again.

bookrating icon

4stars

bookreview icon

   So I am not the kind of person who would real ‘quality’ books and make reviews about how deep the book is or how wrong or right the characters acted or about how stereotypical or not I find it. I am a hopeless romantic girl, reading all kind of romantic books and I just rate based on how the book made me feel. Besides I can’t easily express myself in a language which is not my mother language.
I don’t even know why I started reading the series and why I like the story so much.

I need to be fair so 4 stars it is.

It was better than the first book in every way I can think of. The plot was more than intriguing, the characters were appealing and so realistic; I swear that I never thought their reactions were fake or unreasonable. Plot twists were coming one after the other and I just couldn’t snap off of it. I found the dose of romance that I needed in order to keep reading it and I also even enjoyed all the sex scenes without skipping like I did with the first book.

   I picked a favorite character, Ristan, who easily grew on me and as expected from me he is absolutely no main character. When this happens, I know instantly how good the author is. She managed to make me like someone who had less part in the plot and was less described than others. Anyway I won’t repeat myself, I’ve analyzed how much I love Amelia’s writing style in Fighting Destiny’s review. My only objection still is her abuse of the word ‘fuck’ and her tend on repeating herself every now and then.

Other than that the book was amazingly good and I expect more from the third book which will probably have a higher rating. I have a feeling about this!

abouttheauthor

[Amelia Hutchins]

Leave a Reply

