[Review] Spark by Brigid Kemmerer

 

goodreads icon

aboutthebook icon

EARTH. FIRE. AIR. WATER.

He could feel flames coming through the floor, looking for him. Sparks and ash rained down. He wasn’t going to make it. He was going to fail. Again. Then a hand closed over his wrist and pulled, hard.

Gabriel Merrick plays with fire. Literally. Sometimes he can even control it. And sometimes he can’t. So when an arsonist wreaks havoc on his town all the signs point to Gabriel.

Layne is strangely drawn to him. Layne understands family problems, and she understands secrets. She has a few of her own.

Gabriel can’t let Layne know that the danger that’s right at his heels. But there are some risks he can’t help taking.

THE FUSE IS LIT…

bookrating icon

5stars

bookreview icon

I thought it was going to be like the first book which I did enjoy but this was nothing like it. This book is way better and close to perfection. It goes right in my ‘favorites’ shelve!
I really like Gabriel and I was so glad I got to know him better. His mind was so confused and he was struggling to be accepted by his family, something that made his control worse. Brigid Kemmerer made me understand exactly how he feels and I could actually relate to him. His feelings, his thoughts, everything was so messed up and I was so mad with everyone else even though I knew that Gabriel was also wrong but I couldn’t help it. I was feeling exactly how he was feeling and If I could, I would have burnt everything in front of me.
And then it was Layne, the shy but mysterious girl. At first I thought she would be fragile and always in need of Gabriel but she proved me wrong and I liked her even better. She is a perfect female lead character and nothing like Becca whom by the way I totally dislike. She was a fighter and she wasn’t giving up no matter what. Ok yes there were times she needed Gabriel but it’s Gabriel… I need him too!
Anyway I will say the same thing again. Great book, amazing plot, awesome characters and a happy end.
A perfect book you must read!

abouttheauthor

[Brigid Kemmerer]

Brigid Kemmerer finds the time to write somewhere between caring for her family and working at her day job, but sometimes she ends up mothering her coworkers and managing her family. The Elemental Series follows a family of four orphaned brothers who control the elements of Earth, Air, Fire, and Water, and their battles with those who want them dead.

Leave a Reply

