[Review] Angelfall by Susan Ee

goodreads icon

aboutthebook icon

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

bookrating icon

4stars

bookreview icon

Oh, god, how should I begin reviewing this book?

4 out of five stars.

I chose to read this book because 80% of my friends rated this book with 4 or 5 stars and the reviews were so good. I wanted of course to read it and find out if it is indeed that good; and it is, THAT good!

Usually post-apocaliptic books don’t get my attention and I avoid this genre because of the religion stuff. I don’t want to be in the middle of the conflict about what’s accurate and what’s not and if it is appropriate. Anyway I absolutely don’t regret reading this one.

It was so well written and the descriptions were so detailed that they gave me chills. Seriously the images I got from that book will haunt me for a long time. This is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I don’t do well with gory scenes. But of course I have to praise Mrs. Ee because she made me feel like what I was reading was real and at some point I thought that if I would look outside my window everything would look exactly like the book. I was terrified and that’s a good thing I guess.

About our awesome female lead, Penryn. Wow, what a girl! She was strong, smart, brave and loyal and that’s everything I excpected her to be. Thank god I was not disappointed. Also, Raffe was cool enough even though I wanted to see more of him but I guess that’s why there are more books. I can’t have an oppinion about him yet because he was way too mysterious and quiet to judge.

Other than that I think it’s the best book of the genre and hopefully the best series.

abouttheauthor

[Susan Ee]

Susan Ee is a USA Today bestselling author of the Penryn & the End of Days trilogy, ANGELFALL, WORLD AFTER, and END OF DAYS. Her books have been translated into over twenty languages, and her short films have played at major festivals. She used to be a lawyer but loves being a writer because it allows her imagination to bust out and go feral.

Sign up to hear about her next book at www.susanee.com or follow her on Twitter @Susan_Ee.

Leave a Reply

