[News] Heroes of Olympus 4: The House of Hades

Image

Greetings to all Rick Riordan fans.
Most of you must have known that on May 31st the cover of The House of Hades, book number 4 in the Heroes of Olympus series (sequel series to the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series) was revealed!

[spoilers may be written only in the next paragraph]
In the US cover we can see Percy Jackson and Annabeth Chase running toward the Doors of Death from their side. They are covered in what seems spiderwebs and Percy is holding up Annabeth. To me, personally, it looks like they have been through a lot. The good news are that Percy is actually holding his sword, Riptide. Some weird creatures on the top left corner loom over. Some think that they might be the Furies. Others say the white bit they come out from looks like a river (mentions of Lethe have popped up) and to top it all there’s lava on the left side. John Rocco has very well illustrated a very scary looking Tartarus. I have to say the UK version (see below) looks more optimistic for everyone’s favorite couple.

According to information given the book will be released on October 8th, 2013 by Disney-Hyperion and its hardcover version has 608 pages, which makes it as long as The Mark of Athena. Personally I could have been happier about these news and as an avid fan of Uncle Rick’s books I cannot wait to get this book in my hands.

As for this cover, I did what every other fangirl did across the world and screamed and looked at it until I could decipher every little detail of it. I really admire all those who have come up with exceptional theories about the next book just from the cover. I applaud you, fandom! And I applaud you too, Mr John Rocco, illustrator of godly art that you provided in most of Riordan’s books (see PJO, HoO and Kane Chronicles).

The book is currently available for pre-order in most places. I plan on getting mine from Amazon.com because the US covers are a lot more pretty and it costs less than $12.

Have the UK/Australia/India cover that was also released. I really liked it, to be honest.

Image

Leave me comments about what you think of the covers, your theories, what this or that could mean or anything Heroes of Olympus and House of Hades related.

PS. My favorite character is Nico di Angelo. This book is gonna be golden for me even though Uncle Rick has confirmed on his twitter account here that there will not be a Nico POV.

Leave a Reply

